By Recognition Received


This list is incomplete, but it gives a sense of the range of awards that Africa’s emerging and established leaders have earned

Achievements in International Development Award (given by The Guardian)

“Maggy” Barankitse (Burundi), 2009

Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA)

Tony Elumelu (Nigeria), Honorary Counsel to the AMAA

Africa Prize for Leadership (through the Hunger Project)

Wangari Maathai (Kenya)

African Footballer of the Year (through the Union of European Football Associations)

Nwankwo Kanu (Nigeria)

African International Award of Merit for Leadership

Zainab Bangura (Sierra Leone), 1999

Africare Distinguished Humanitarian Service Award

Graça Machel (Mozambique)

Angel of Africa Award (from the Segal Family Foundation)

“Maggy” Barankitse (Burundi), 2013

Anzisha Prize (through the African Leadership Academy)

Donald Bambara (Burkina Faso), 2013 finalist

Sirjeff Dennis (Tanzania), 2015 finalist

Mabel Suglo (Ghana), 2015 second runner up

Aspen Global Leadership Fellow

Patrick Awuah (Ghana)

Champion of the Earth Award (through the United Nations)

Fatima Jibrell (Somalia), 2011

Cheikh Anta Diop Award for Excellence in African Studies

Toyin Falola (Nigeria), 2006 Award

Clinton Global Citizen Award

Mohamed Ibrahim (Sudan), 2010

Graça Machel (Mozambique), 2014

Commonwealth Scholarship (through the Government of the UK)

Cinderella Anena (Uganda), Master’s Degree, Global Development & Gender, U. of Leeds

Dell Social Innovation Competition Award

Kennedy Odede (Kenya), 2010

Distinguished Africanist Award

Kassahun Checole (Eritrea), from UT-Austin, 2006

Toyin Falola (Nigeria) from the African Studies Association, 2011

Echoing Green Global Fellow

Kennedy Odede (Kenya), 2010

Rajesh Panjabi (Liberia), 2011

Four Freedoms Award (from the Roosevelt Institute)

“Maggy” Barankitse (Burundi), 2004

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Fellowship

Amnah Ibuni (Tanzania), to participate in the 2015 Young Leaders Forum

Fulbright Scholar-in-Residence

Francis Amedahe, School of Education, Elon University, 2006-07

Future Africa Award

Kelvin Mutize (Zimbabwe), 2015

Kennedy Odede (Kenya), 2014

Future for Nature Award

Corneille Ewango (DRC), 2011

Gleitsman International Activist Award

Ilwad Elman (Somalia), 2015

Global Ambassador (through the National Basketball Association)

Dikembe Mutombo (DRC)

Global Leader for Tomorrow (through the World Economic Forum)

Mpule Kwelagobe (Botswana), 2003

Global Leadership and Humanitarian Award

Reginald Mengi (Tanzania)

Global Youth Ambassador (through A World at School)

Hikmat Baba Dua (Ghana)

Marshall Dyton (Malawi)

Salimatou Fatty (The Gambia)

Issac Jonas (Zimbabwe)

Joannes Paulus Yimbesalu (Cameroon)

Goldman Environmental Prize

Corneille Ewango (DRC), 2005

Fatima Jibrell (Somalia), 2002

Wangari Maathai (Kenya),1991

Goodwill Ambassador (through the United Nations)

Didier Drogba (Côte d’Ivoire), for the UNDP

Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), for UNICEF

Mpule Kwelagobe (Botswana), for Youth and HIV/AIDS

Hideyo Noguchi Africa Prize

Miriam Were (Kenya)–story coming in 2016

Ibadan Foundation Award

Toyin Falola (Nigeria), 2009 award

Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership

Joaquim Chissano (Mozambique), 2007–story coming in 2016

Pedro Pires (Cape Verde), 2011–story coming in 2016 Global Fellow

William Kamkwamba (Malawi)

Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development

Wangari Maathai (Kenya)

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (Liberia)

International Order of the Lion (through the International Assoc. of Lions Clubs)

Reginald Mengi (Tanzania)

International Visitor Leadership Program (through the US Department of State)

Nadege Afoutou (Togo)

Joint Japan/World Bank Graduate Scholarship Program

Mamoudou Barry (Guinea), Master’s in Policy Economics, Williams College

Kanthari Fellow

Odion Anavhe, 2014

Laureate of Africa Prize

Graça Machel (Mozambique)

Liberty Medal

Nelson Mandela (South Africa)

MacArthur Foundation Fellowship

Patrick Awuah (Ghana), 2015

MasterCard Foundation Scholar

Isaac Jonas (Zimbabwe)

Mandela Washington Fellows (through the US Department of State)


Ba Coulibaly (Cote d’Ivoire), hosted by the University of Texas-Austin

Jean-Patrick Ehouman (Côte d’Ivoire), hosted by the University of Texas-Austin

Ilwad Elman (Somalia), hosted by the University of Delaware

Amnah Ibuni (Tanzania), hosted by Arizona State University

Phillip Garjay Innis (Liberia), hosted by Syracuse University

Adepeju Jaiyeoba (Nigeria), hosted by the University of Texas-Austin

Saied Tafida Sulaiman (Nigeria), hosted by Syracuse University


Nadege Afoutou (Togo), hosted by the University of Delaware

Essan Emile Ako (Côte d’Ivoire), hosted by Rutgers University

Cinderella Anena (Uganda), hosted by the “Presidential Precinct” (a consortium of universities)

Momodou Inkeh Bah (The Gambia), hosted by Virginia Commonwealth University

Mamoudou Barry (Guinea), hosted by Georgia State University

Ndzoyi Averty Delamizere (Republic of Congo), hosted by Presidential Precinct

Sinazo Didiza (South Africa), hosted by Arizona State University

Hikmat Baba Dua (Ghana), hosted by Rutgers University

Marshall Dyton (Malawi), hosted by Notre Dame

Heinrich Hafeni (Namibia), hosted by Clark Atlanta University

Sara Idohou (Benin), hosted by Arizona State University

Alieu Jallow (The Gambia), hosted by Northwestern University

Aruna Kallon (Sierra Leone), hosted by the “Presidential Precinct” (a consortium of universities)

Fombah Kanneh (Liberia), hosted by the University of Wisconsin-Stout

Allen Kimbelwa (Tanzania), hosted by Tulane University

Kelvin Macharia Kuria (Kenya), hosted by Dartmouth College

Collins Nakedi (Kenya), hosted by Arizona State University

Virgile Samba-Moussinga (Rep. of the Congo), hosted by VCU

Kelvin Mutize (Zimbabwe), hosted by Arizona State University

Bobwealth Omontese (Nigeria), hosted by Syracuse University

Onemus “Jnr Kannase” Shoombe (Namibia), hosted by Arizona State University

Amalkher Djibrine Souleymane (Chad), hosted by Tulane University

Miss Universe

Mpule Kwelagobe (Botswana)

Moremi Initiative for Women’s Leadership in Africa (MILEAD) Fellows

Hikmat Baba Dua (Ghana)

Muhammad Ali Humanitarian Award

Kennedy Odede (Kenya)

Mulago Foundation Fellow

Rajesh Panjabi (Liberia)

Nansen Refugee Award (from the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees)

“Maggy” Barankitse (Burundi), 2005

Graça Machel (Mozambique)

National Geographic Emerging Explorers Award

John Dau (South Sudan)

Nobel Peace Prize

Hawa Abdi (Somalia), nominee in 2012

Mohamed ElBaradei (Egypt), 2005

Wangari Maathai (Kenya), 2004

National Dialogue Quartet (Tunisia), 2015

Nelson Mandela (South Africa), 1993

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (Liberia), 2011

North-South Prize  (awarded by the Council of Europe)

“Maggy” Barankitse (Burundi), 2001

Graça Machel (Mozambique)

Presidential Medal of Freedom

Nelson Mandela (South Africa)

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (Liberia)

President’s Service Award (through the US Government)

Dikembe Mutombo (DRC)

Queens Young Leader

Pater Noster (Cameroon)

Stella Mutale Sata (Zambia), mentor to Queens Young Leaders

Joannes Paulus Yimbesalu (Cameroon)

Star Award

Chinenye Sarah Ogoko (Nigeria)

Swedish Institute Scholarship

Phillip Garjay Innis (Liberia), for Environmental Management and Policy, Lund University

TED Fellow

Hawa Abdi (Somalia), 2011 talk

Patrick Awuah (Ghana), 2007 talk

Corneille Ewango (DRC), 2007 talk

William Kamkwamba (Malawi)

Seyi Oyesola (Nigeria), 2007 talk

Fred Swaniker (Ghana), 2014 talk

Tony Elumelu Entrepreneurship Programme (TEEP)

Basant Motawi (Egypt), 2015

United Nations NGO Lifetime Achievement Award

Reginald Mengi (Tanzania)

Vital Voices Lead Fellow

Odion Anavhe, 2015

Women Deliver Young Leader

Hikmat Baba Dua (Ghana)

Young Global Leader (through the World Economic Forum)

Mpule Kwelagobe (Botswana), 2006

Fred Swaniker (Ghana)


%d bloggers like this: